The Facebook security check warning says “Warning: Please Slow Down. It looks like you’re using this feature in a way it wasn’t meant to be used. Please slow down, or you could be blocked from using it.” This is what some people are seeing when they try to send, or reply to, a message within the Facebook messaging feature. The only problem is, people who rarely send messages at all are seeing it.
The Facebook security check warning is a pop-up that, well, pops up when you try to send a message, that looks like this:
Now, this Facebook security check system is intended to catch ne’er-well-doers who are using the Facebook messaging and chat systems to spam.
|Get notified of new Internet Patrol articles for free!
|Or Read Internet Patrol Articles Right in Your Inbox!
as Soon as They are Published! Only $1 a Month!
Imagine being able to read full articles right in your email, or on your phone, without ever having to click through to the website unless you want to! Just $1 a month and you can cancel at any time!
The problem is that it also traps people who are the furthest thing from spamming (like, say, me).
In fact, I use the Facebook messaging function maybe twice a week, at best. And I never send mass messages to several people at once.
But, of course, there is no recourse – no court of common “Facebook you effed up” pleas.
All you can do is wait it out – for how long Facebook doesn’t say, it is dependent upon your perceived infraction.
So, if you too have received one of these warnings, for no apparent reason, take comfort in the fact that you’re not alone, and this too shall pass.
No Paywall Here!
The Internet Patrol is and always has been free. We don't hide our articles behind a paywall, or restrict the number of articles you can read in a month if you don't give us money. That said, it does cost us money to run the site, so if something you read here was helpful or useful, won't you consider donating something to help keep the Internet Patrol free? Thank you!
|Get notified of new Internet Patrol articles!