The BBC is reporting that Microsoft has changed the way that it ‘suggests’ that you upgrade to Windows 10. When you get the update pop-up, saying that “Windows 10 is a recommended update for this PC”, if you click on the X to dismiss the pop-up, rather than dismissing the message, it schedules the update!
According to the BBC, “this has caused confusion as typically clicking a red cross closes a pop-up notification.”
Note: Not all systems have a red X, we realize, but the point is that clicking the X in the upper right-hand corner to dismiss the message results, instead, in the update being scheduled.
|Pssst! Get notified of new TIP articles here:|
The BBC quotes Microsoft as saying that “The upgrade could still be cancelled, when the scheduled time for it to begin appeared.”
In other words, after clicking on the X to close and dismiss the message, it instead would move forward with scheduling an update – and at that point you could cancel the upgrade.
In a piece in PC World titled “How Microsoft’s tricky new Windows 10 pop-up deceives you into upgrading”, Brad Chacos observes that “Deploying these dirty tricks only frustrates long-time Windows users who have very valid reasons to stick with operating systems they already know and love.”
And security researcher Graham Cluely calls it a “dirty little windows 10 upgrade trick”, pointing out that “although most user interface design would consider the pressing of that “X” to be a cancellation of the process, Microsoft has decided to read it as your acceptance that you wish to upgrade your computer to Windows 10.”
So, did you get caught by this switcheroo?
(Hey! Please let us know if you liked this article by leaving us a comment!)
You might also like some of our other articles: