The Wickr self-destructing message app (pronounced “Wicker”) gives you complete messaging security. This is because you can set your messages to self-destruct after a certain time, assuring that your privacy is protected. Wickr works with both email and text messages, and the intention is that the self-destructing Wickr message app will also be able to be used with services like Twitter and Facebook, one day. By “self-destruct” we mean that Wickr allows you to set an expiration time for the email or message, after which time it will be deleted, and all evidence of the message’s existence will be erased. A timed self-destructive message will delete that message that you may regret later.
To use it, you simply create whatever type of communication you wish, such as a text message, picture, audio or video recording, and then set how long you want the message to last. You can set it to last for over 5 days, or for as little as one second. The person with whom you are communicating must also have the Wickr app downloaded to their phone.
Once you’ve sent your message and the timer expires, the message will disappear and read “Expired,” and disappear. Further, only the device of the recipient can read the message that was sent.
|Read Internet Patrol Articles Right in Your Inbox|
as Soon as They are Published! Only $1 a Month!
Imagine being able to read full articles right in your email, or on your phone, without ever having to click through to the website unless you want to! Just $1 a month and you can cancel at any time!
|Or get notified of new Internet Patrol articles for free! |
According to Wickr, they provide military-grade encryption and are FIPS 140 and HIPAA compliant. They go on to say that they offer “the best available privacy, security, anonymity and deleted file-shredding features.” The app does not require passwords for each exchange, but the user accounts are password protected.
This may seem a great idea for those text and email messages that you don’t want coming back to haunt you later, as most message creates a digital record that is kept by third-parties. But a word of caution to those being lulled into a false sense of security, just as we are illustrating with this article, nothing is stopping your message recipients from taking a screen shot.
No Paywall Here!
The Internet Patrol is and always has been free. We don't hide our articles behind a paywall, or restrict the number of articles you can read in a month if you don't give us money. That said, it does cost us money to run the site, so if something you read here was helpful or useful, won't you consider donating something to help keep the Internet Patrol free? Thank you!
|Get notified of new Internet Patrol articles! |