New Facebook Privacy Settings Confounding, Consternating, and Concerning

If you find this useful please share it!

We’ve received rafts of concerns about the newest Facebook Privacy Announcement and the new Facebook privacy policies – and even about Facebook’s privacy policies policies (like the policy of forcing you to revisit their privacy policies repeatedly, and requiring you to confirm what appear to be new settings or keep your “old settings” without giving you a chance to see or understand what your “old settings” were to start with).

The confusion started towards the end of last week, when Facebook users who logged into their Facebook accounts were greeted with this undefeatable pop-up:

facebook-privacy-announcement-next-step

 

Even if you tried, you would have found it impossible to avoid that “next step” and go directly to your home page or any other part of your own account – Facebook required that you go on to that next step in “choosing your privacy settings”, even though you may have already chosen your privacy settings to your liking as recently as the previous week (as had I, after learning and writing about how Googling your own name turns up your Facebook friends).

Now, this may otherwise be all well and good, except that the way that Facebook had set this up is that the next step looks like this:

facebook-privacy-settings-update

Read Internet Patrol Articles Right in Your Inbox
as Soon as They are Published! Only $1 a Month!

Imagine being able to read full articles right in your email, or on your phone, without ever having to click through to the website unless you want to! Just $1 a month and you can cancel at any time!
New Facebook Privacy Settings Confounding, Consternating, and Concerning
Or get notified of new Internet Patrol articles for free!

 

Note how many of these settings are defaulted to “Everyone”. The choices are to leave it at “Everyone”, or to ‘return’ it to your “Old Settings” – however, there is no way to figure out what your ‘old settings’ are without first hitting the “Save Settings” button on this page, because the system won’t let you go anywhere else in your account before completing this page and hitting the “Save Settings” button. This is perhaps not that concerning in this instance, as your old settings couldn’t be more open to public viewing than “Everyone”, but what about the “Photos and Videos of Me” setting, which is defaulted to “Friends of Friends”? What if your old setting is already “Friends of Friends” (or even “Everyone”) but now that you are aware of this setting, you actually don’t want anyone other than direct friends to have access to photos and videos of you – to make it more private than the “Friends of Friends” setting?

Now sure, it can be argued that it only takes a couple of minutes to save the settings, and then to go to the regular privacy settings area of your Facebook account and confirm or change your settings.

 

But that’s not really the point, is it?

No Paywall Here!
The Internet Patrol is and always has been free. We don't hide our articles behind a paywall, or restrict the number of articles you can read in a month if you don't give us money.That said, it does cost us money to run the site, so if something you read here was helpful or useful, won't you consider donating something to help keep the Internet Patrol free?Thank you!

New Facebook Privacy Settings Confounding, Consternating, and Concerning

Get notified of new Internet Patrol articles!

If you find this useful please share it!

5 Replies to “New Facebook Privacy Settings Confounding, Consternating, and Concerning”

  1. Maybe the wrong department but please someone get back to me about what happened, my facebook was wiped out a few days back and I don’t understand why, more info later. Thank you. gilda

  2. “however, there is no way to figure out what your ‘old settings’ are without first hitting the “Save Settings” button on this page” wasn’t true for me… hovering over any of the “old settings” buttons gave a tool-tip summary of how it was set previously.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *