Why are Garren Fitzenreiter and admin@keithware.com Sending Me a PayPal Bill for Their Inspection Sticker Ticket?   - 2,197 Views, 2 Comments

Summary: Is it a scam? Is it spam? Is it phishing? Is it legal? Someone calling themselves Garren Fitzenreiter, using the email address admin@keithware.com, is sending people Paypal invoices out of the blue, with the subject "help me pay for my inspection sticker ticket and ill love you forever. thanks"
Most Recent Searches that Led to This Page: email out of the blue paypal, would like to be paid through PayPal scam

Previous Article « Microsoft Issues 7 Security Updates for Windows, 2 Critical
Read Next Article » Yahoo Bans Any Username Containing “Allah”

Why are Garren Fitzenreiter and admin@keithware.com Sending Me a PayPal Bill for Their Inspection Sticker Ticket?        Follow Anne on Twitter     Friend Anne on Facebook

If you get email from admin at keithware dot com with the subject “help me pay for my inspection ticket”, with a Paypal link to contribute $10.00 towards their fine, well, you’re not alone.

Someone calling themselves Garren Fitzenreiter, using the email address admin at keithware dot com, is sending people Paypal invoices out of the blue, with the subject “help me pay for my inspection sticker ticket and ill love you forever. thanks”

It’s a clever scheme, and who knows, maybe his name really is Garren Fitzenreiter (although the domain keithware.com is registered to someone name Lee Dickinson), and maybe he really does need the money to pay for an inspection sticker ticket.

But it’s still spam, and still a scam.

Don’t fall for it!

Here’s the email:

From: admin at keithware dot com
Subject: help me pay for my inspection sticker ticket and ill love you forever. thanks
Date: February 16, 2006 12:18:44 PM PST

Garren Fitzenreiter (admin at keithware dot com) would like to be paid through PayPal.

———————————–
Money Request Details
———————————–

Amount: $10.00 USD

Note: http://www.keithware.com/ticket.html

—————————————————————-
PayPal makes it easy to send money by email to Garren Fitzenreiter (admin at keithware dot com) from your PayPal account.

To view the details of this Money Request or to pay Garren Fitzenreiter with PayPal, just click on the following link or copy and paste it into your web browser:

[link omitted]

Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
—————————————————————-

So, there you have it. I’m curious as to how many of these things he sent out. I’ve already heard from a few people that they got the same email.

I’m also curious as to how many people, if any, actually send him the money.

As one friend put it, welcome to the newest form of Internet panhandling.

Was this information helpful? If so, please leave us a review!

SHARE:
Why are Garren Fitzenreiter and admin@keithware.com Sending Me a PayPal Bill for Their Inspection Sticker Ticket?
SOCIAL:        Friend Anne on Facebook        Follow Anne on Twitter        Twitter Explained in Plain English
SEARCH:
       

Leave a Comment

Previous Article « Microsoft Issues 7 Security Updates for Windows, 2 Critical
Read Next Article » Yahoo Bans Any Username Containing “Allah”

Read more:

»  New Paypal Scam Asks for Passport, Drivers License and Credit Card

»  New Windows Worm Offers Free Soccer Tickets

»  Website Gets You Out of Parking Tickets - Guaranteed

»  The Newest Paypal Phish Exhorts “Account Activity - Action Required”

For additional similar stories check out our archives on Paypal, Scams, Spam

NOTE: We never, ever, ever will recommend any product or service on this site that we have not regularly used ourselves and do not wholeheartedly believe in. That said, in some cases after being very pleased with a product or service, we may enter into a relationship with the provider of that product or service such that if someone purchases that product or service based on our recommendation, we may get a small payment. Such payments go towards the upkeep of the Internet Patrol.

 

2 Comments »

  1. ummm…garren is a real person…i know him personally and he does own that website..he’s had it for almost a year now but, he does have a low income and needs help…he’s a really nice person and i’m sure he didn’t send it as a scam.

    Comment by Kristin — 4/2/2006 @ 2:33 pm

  2. good topic, thank for share!!!!

    Comment by FMG2GOLD — 4/6/2009 @ 7:12 am

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Warning! All comments which contain URLs and are clearly just spam to generate a link back to the URL will be deleted on sight. Don't bother wasting your time!

If you are going to include a URL in your comment,
please keep it under 25 characters in length,
or use TinyURL to shorten it before including it in your comment.

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic, your email address is never displayed.

(required)

(required)


 
 This article first appeared on 2/16/2006
The Internet Patrol
Patrolling the Internet for You!