Why are Garren Fitzenreiter and admin@keithware.com Sending Me a PayPal Bill for Their Inspection Sticker Ticket? 2/16/2006 - 1,060 views, 1 Comment
|
Previous Article « Microsoft Issues 7 Security Updates for Windows, 2 Critical
Read Next Article » Yahoo Bans Any Username Containing “Allah”
If you get email from admin@keithware.com with the subject “help me pay for my inspection ticket”, with a Paypal link to contribute $10.00 towards their fine, well, you’re not alone. Someone calling themselves Garren Fitzenreiter, using the email address admin@keithware.com, is sending people Paypal invoices out of the blue, with the subject “help me pay for my inspection sticker ticket and ill love you forever. thanks” It’s a clever scheme, and who knows, maybe his name really is Garren Fitzenreiter (although the domain keithware.com is registered to someone name Lee Dickinson), and maybe he really does need the money to pay for an inspection sticker ticket. But it’s still spam, and still a scam. Don’t fall for it! Here’s the email: From: admin@keithware.com Garren Fitzenreiter (admin@keithware.com) would like to be paid through PayPal. ———————————– Amount: $10.00 USD Note: http://www.keithware.com/ticket.html —————————————————————- To view the details of this Money Request or to pay Garren Fitzenreiter with PayPal, just click on the following link or copy and paste it into your web browser: [link omitted] Thank you for using PayPal! So, there you have it. I’m curious as to how many of these things he sent out. I’ve already heard from a few people that they got the same email. I’m also curious as to how many people, if any, actually send him the money. As one friend put it, welcome to the newest form of Internet panhandling.
Subject: help me pay for my inspection sticker ticket and ill love you forever. thanks
Date: February 16, 2006 12:18:44 PM PST
Money Request Details
———————————–
PayPal makes it easy to send money by email to Garren Fitzenreiter (admin@keithware.com) from your PayPal account.
The PayPal Team
—————————————————————-
|
|
Email the link for this page to a friend! |
Read more:
» Get 9-f9-11-02-9d-74-e3-5b-d8-41-56-c5-63-56-88-c0 Bumper Stickers!
» The Newest Paypal Phish Exhorts “Account Activity - Action Required”
» Is Paypal Down? Why Yes, It Is
» New Windows Worm Offers Free Soccer Tickets
For additional similar stories check out our archives on Paypal, Scams, Spam


ummm…garren is a real person…i know him personally and he does own that website..he’s had it for almost a year now but, he does have a low income and needs help…he’s a really nice person and i’m sure he didn’t send it as a scam.
Comment by Kristin — 4/2/2006 @ 2:33 pm