Weird Spam Asks “How Much Does Downloading Music Cost?”   - 1,273 Views, 2 Comments

Summary: A rash of seemingly pointless spam (no links, no payload, no effort to get private information) is making the rounds, each one inquiring about the cost to get some form of music download, and each coming from a fake Gmail address, such as d12treskey@gmail.com, petersons.production@gmail.com, winstonfinancial@gmail.com and petrov.gazprom@gmail.com.

Previous Article « Man Discovers You Can Make Anyone’s iPhone Track Them and Report Back to You
Read Next Article » How to Unfriend Someone on Facebook

  Follow Anne on Twitter     Friend Anne on Facebook

A rash of seemingly pointless spam (no links, no payload, no effort to get private information) is making the rounds, each one inquiring about the cost to get some form of music download, and each coming from a fake Gmail address, such as d12treskey@gmail.com, petersons.production@gmail.com, winstonfinancial@gmail.com and petrov.gazprom@gmail.com.

The Subjects are all very similar. “How much does it cost to get music on my phone?” asks one. “How much does a music video cost on itunes?” asks another. “How much does downloading music cost?” queries a third.

The entire spam message is never more than a few lines long, and each is also a variation on the same theme, such as:

How much does it cost to get music on my phone?
What are the pros and cons I should be looking out for?
Please point me in the right direction. I really appreciate your help. Thankyou,
Joan

And:

How much does downloading music cost?
Would you consider giving me a hand or at least some advice based on your experience? Any help appreciated.
Thank you very much.
Thank you, Susan

So what is this spam all about? Nobody seems to know. It’s about as pointless as spam can be. So far.

One other interesting thing is that, in a clear attempt to bolster the Gmail charade, each one actually comes through a domain called “gmail-mx2.com”. The only problem is that gmail-mx2.com was only registered last month, and seems to be somewhere in Chicago - it’s clearly not a Gmail property.

In any event, if you get this spam, don’t reply; just delete it.

Weird Spam Asks “How Much Does Downloading Music Cost?”

 Follow Anne on Twitter

 Twitter Explained in Plain English

 Friend Anne on Facebook

Previous Article « Man Discovers You Can Make Anyone’s iPhone Track Them and Report Back to You
Read Next Article » How to Unfriend Someone on Facebook

Read more:

»  Top MP3 Download Site Allofmp3 Shut Down by Russian Government in Hopes of Winning WTO Membership for Russia

»  Weird Al Internet Premiere Scooped by… the Internet. “White and Nerdy” Video becomes “White, Nerdy, and Already Distributed”

»  How Downloading MP3s Really Does Take Money Out of the Artists’ Pockets

»  Free Legal Music Downloads Service Spiral Frog to Compete with iTunes - with a Twist - It Doesn’t Work with iPod and Zune

For additional similar stories check out our archives on Spam

NOTE: We never, ever, ever will recommend any product or service on this site that we have not regularly used ourselves and do not wholeheartedly believe in. That said, in some cases after being very pleased with a product or service, we may enter into a relationship with the provider of that product or service such that if someone purchases that product or service based on our recommendation, we may get a small payment. Such payments go towards the upkeep of the Internet Patrol.

 

2 Comments »

  1. Perhaps they had an invisible email tracker embedded which lets them know whether an email they sent was opened. Seems a good way for a spammer to collect email addresses from people whom actually open spam.

    Comment by KatZoonHyte — 7/24/2009 @ 3:58 am

  2. I too have received these emails. Unfortunately I was dumb enough to respond to the first one I got because it seemed to come from a real reader in need of advice. Then I started receiving more similar emails, and I realized I had been spammed.

    Then I did a Google search using the words of my response to that first email, and discovered that it had been published on a website. The site has Adsense ads on it. It’s a spoof website that has been made to look like Yahoo Answers.

    If any of you have responded to any of these emails, search Google using the words of your reply. If you find that it’s been published on a website, complain to Google and/or Adsense!! Email content is copyrighted! Maybe together we can get this site taken down or at least banned from Adsense.

    Comment by a webmaster — 8/1/2009 @ 9:07 am

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Warning! All comments which contain URLs and are clearly just spam to generate a link back to the URL will be deleted on sight. Don't bother wasting your time!

If you are going to include a URL in your comment,
please keep it under 25 characters in length,
or use TinyURL to shorten it before including it in your comment.

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic, your email address is never displayed.
HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)


If you have not posted a comment here before, we apologize for having to ask you to enter the letters and numbers you see in the image above to validate your comment, but we are being attacked by thousands of comment form spams every day! You only need to do this once; once you have successfuly posted a comment here you will not be asked to do this again. Thank you for your understanding!

 
 This article first appeared on 7/22/2009
The Internet Patrol
Patrolling the Internet for You!