The “You Have Received a Postcard from a Family Member!” Spam   - 1,923 Views, 1 Comment

Summary: "You have received a postcard from a family member!", says the subject of one of the latest spam scams.

Previous Article « Email Death Threat: The Hitman Email Scam Makes a Comeback
Read Next Article » Staid Publisher Elsevier Resorts to Comment Spamming - But Why?

  Follow Anne on Twitter

“You have received a postcard from a family member!”, says the subject of one of the latest spam scams.

Does anybody legitimate still really send e-cards or e-postcards? Here is one more example of why we at the Internet Patrol never, ever open an ecard or epostcard (and yes, that includes evites - we never open them, so if you want to invite us to something, use plain, old fashioned email).

Here’s what the “You have received a postcard from a family member!” epostcard looks like to the naked eye. You’d think that the very fact that the subject says “from a family member” instead of, you know, that family member’s name, would tip folks off, but sadly, not so:

From: Postcards.com
Subject: You have received a postcard from a family member!

Oh happy day! Your Family Member sent you a postcard from 1001 Postcards!

================================================

You can view your card at this address:

Click Here

Your postcard will be available for 60 days.

We hope you enjoy your postcard, and if you do, please take a moment
to send a few yourself!

Regards,
Marty & Alice at 1001 Postcards
http://www.postcards.org

—————————————————————————-
And in case you were wondering…
1. This is a free service!
2. We don’t sell email addres ses to anyone!
3. We really ar


(Note that the truncated “3. We really ar” is how it’s being sent, not a typo here.)

Now, here’s how it really looks:

Received: from User ([193.77.143.107]) by allegrosafety.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.3959);
Wed, 10 Sep 2008 02:36:04 -0700
Reply-To:
From: “Postcards.com”
Subject: You have received a postcard from a family member!
Message-ID:

Oh happy day! Your Family Member sent you a postcard from 1001 Postcards!

================================================

You can view your card at this address:

http://www.puertoricotoday.net/data/donate/index.html?certegy_vm=
trueportlet_change_1_actionOverrideFchaseonlineFchangeFsigninDetails_windowLabel_portlet_signin_pageLabel_page_signin

Your postcard will be available for 60 days.

We hope you enjoy your postcard, and if you do, please take a moment
to send a few yourself!

Regards,
Marty & Alice at 1001 Postcards

http://www.postcards.org

—————————————————————————-

And in case you were wondering…

1. This is a free service!
2. We don’t sell email addresses to anyone!
3. We really ar


Again - this is why we never EVER open epostcards or ecards, and we suggest that you don’t either.

The “You Have Received a Postcard from a Family Member!” Spam

 Follow Anne on Twitter

 Twitter Explained in Plain English

Previous Article « Email Death Threat: The Hitman Email Scam Makes a Comeback
Read Next Article » Staid Publisher Elsevier Resorts to Comment Spamming - But Why?

Read more:

»  Trojan Postcard Targets Windows Users

»  If it Says You’ve Received a Greeting eCard from a Friend, Class Mate, or Partner - Well, You Haven’t. And Don’t Open It!

»  Beware of Anonymous Email Online Postcards

»  Unexpected Online Greeting Cards May Carry Trojan Horses

For additional similar stories check out our archives on Scams, Spam

NOTE: We never, ever, ever will recommend any product or service on this site that we have not regularly used ourselves and do not wholeheartedly believe in. That said, in some cases after being very pleased with a product or service, we may enter into a relationship with the provider of that product or service such that if someone purchases that product or service based on our recommendation, we may get a small payment. Such payments go towards the upkeep of the Internet Patrol.

 

1 Comment »

  1. attn: “Marty & Alice at 1001 Postcards”
    wipe your mouth, you’ve got some b.s. hanging from your lip.
    “gunner”

    Comment by "gunner" — 9/12/2008 @ 7:35 am

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Warning! All comments which contain URLs and are clearly just spam to generate a link back to the URL will be deleted on sight. Don't bother wasting your time!

If you are going to include a URL in your comment,
please keep it under 25 characters in length,
or use TinyURL to shorten it before including it in your comment.

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic, your email address is never displayed.
HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)


If you have not posted a comment here before, we apologize for having to ask you to enter the letters and numbers you see in the image above to validate your comment, but we are being attacked by thousands of comment form spams every day! You only need to do this once; once you have successfuly posted a comment here you will not be asked to do this again. Thank you for your understanding!

 
 This article first appeared on 9/10/2008
The Internet Patrol
Patrolling the Internet for You!