The Newest Paypal Phish Exhorts “Account Activity - Action Required” - 2,697 Views, 3 Comments
|
Previous Article « Use the Internet to Get the Best Deal on Discount Digital Cameras!
Read Next Article » How to Host and Link to Videos Using Amazon S3
Paypal phish are as common as the cold. Here, the newest one claims that there have been foreign attempts to log into your Paypal account, and explains that if it wasn’t you (which, of course, it wasn’t) you should click on the link to verifiy your identity. Where does the link really go? Not to Paypal, that’s for sure. In fact, it really goes to http://i-195-137-106-138.freedom2surf.net/login, which is a very convincing Paypal phishing site. Here’s the full text of the email: “We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your paypal account If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr? cmd=_login-run Verify your identity is a security measure that will ensure that you are Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account. Sincerely, Paypal Email ID PJ321″ Want to see what the phony Paypal phishing site really looks like? Here is a screenshot that we just took of it: Pretty convincing, eh? And this is why we always say, if you get email from Paypal asking you to log in to your Paypal account - for any reason - don’t do it. Go directly to the Paypal site instead by typing “http://www.paypal.com” into your browser, and logging in through the website. If Paypal really needs you to do something, there will be a message waiting for you there.
Follow Anne on Twitter
from a foreign IP address.
attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you did not initiate
the log ins, please visit paypal as soon as possible to verify your
identity:
the only person with access to the account.
Paypal Security Team
The Newest Paypal Phish Exhorts “Account Activity - Action Required”
Twitter Explained in Plain English
Previous Article « Use the Internet to Get the Best Deal on Discount Digital Cameras!
Read Next Article » How to Host and Link to Videos Using Amazon S3
Read more:
» New Starbucks Paypal Phish - “You Have Pending Payment to Starbucks”
» Evil New PayPal Phish! New email address added to your PayPal account!
» The “Receipt for Your Payment to” eBay Paypal Phishing Spam
For additional similar stories check out our archives on Paypal, Phishing
NOTE: We never, ever, ever will recommend any product or service on this site that we have not regularly used ourselves and do not wholeheartedly believe in. That said, in some cases after being very pleased with a product or service, we may enter into a relationship with the provider of that product or service such that if someone purchases that product or service based on our recommendation, we may get a small payment. Such payments go towards the upkeep of the Internet Patrol.

<a href=”"Paypal E-mail Stating Your Account Will Be Closed Due To Inactivity - Link To Update Info
This e-mail was received with the sender being info@secure-paypal.com
Dear Customer,
This e-mail is the notification of recent innovations taken by PayPal
to detect inactive customers and non-functioning mailboxes.
The inactive customers are subject to restriction and removal in the next 1 month.,
Once you have updated your account records your PayPal will not be
interrupted and will continue as normal.
However, failure to update your records will result in account suspension.
This notification expires on 02 November 2008.
Please follow the link below
and renew your account information
Resolution Center
Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
Please do not reply to this email.
This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response
—————————————————————-
Copyright © 1999-2008 PayPal. All rights reserved.
PayPal Email ID #PP907-4485
Comment by Kaye — 10/30/2008 @ 1:13 pm
“action required”? i have verified, by looking in the mirror, that i am indeed, myself. since i do not have, and never have had a paypal account no further “action” is required and no information will be furnished.
Comment by "gunner" — 6/26/2009 @ 8:02 am
NO ME DEJA ENTRAR A MI CUENTA ME DICE QUE ERROR 500 INTERNO NESESITO AYUDA POR FAVOR
Comment by BIANCA — 8/3/2009 @ 9:32 am