Staid Publisher Elsevier Resorts to Comment Spamming - But Why?   - 1,748 Views,

Summary: Elsevier Publishing, the noted - and acclaimed - publisher of science and health books, has resorted to comment spamming on blogs, pushing their Elsevier Direct and Syngress divisions at ElsevierDirect.com.

Previous Article « The “You Have Received a Postcard from a Family Member!” Spam
Read Next Article » Facebook the Movie: Yes It’s True - Aaron Sorkin is Creating the Facebook Movie for Sony

  Follow Anne on Twitter

Elsevier Publishing, the noted - and acclaimed - publisher of science and health books, has resorted to comment spamming on blogs, pushing their Elsevier Direct and Syngress divisions at ElsevierDirect.com.

We know, because their employee, Julissa Torres, spammed the Internet Patrol today. Why Ms. Torres thought that people reading about the Motion Picture Association being accused of hacking would care about a sale of IT books by Elsevier’s Syngress division is beyond us.

This is a disturbing new trend. We all know about otherwise legitimate companies that decide to send email to their old lists of customers - and we may or may not agree that is spam. But having an employee troll the internet and seek out blogs, and post advertisements for your business as a comment is clearly spam.

And a trend it is. In the past few months we have caught Vonage comment spamming and a big time law firm comment spamming, and that’s just here at the Internet Patrol. Who knows who and where else this is going on!

Here’s the latest, from Elsevier - as with any spammer, we must now put them in the category of “don’t ever buy anything from them ever again“.

A new comment on the post #1339 “Motion Picture Association (MPAA) Accused of Hacking - Hires exTorrentSpy Employee Robert Anderson to Break Into TorrentSpy Servers” is waiting for your approval at http://www.theinternetpatrol.com/motion-picture-association-mpaa-accused-of-hacking

Author : Julissa Torres (IP: 63.125.147.253 , mindseye.mdconsult.com)
E-mail : J.torres@elsevier.com
URL : http://www.elsevierdirect.com
Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=63.125.147.253
Comment:
My name is Julissa Torres, and I’m with Syngress Publishing — we’ve been a leading publisher of high-quality reference books for IT professionals for over 10 years.

We’ve recently launched a special user-group only 50% off sale and I would like to pass this information along to your members. This special sale includes recently published books!

If you would like to see more information about the books that we publish, please visit www.elsevierdirect.com/syngress.

If you could point me in the right direction of a person I can contact about your membership, it would be greatly appreciated. I can supply an email that explains our special sale that can be easily forwarded.

I appreciate your consideration, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Julissa Torres
________________________________

Julissa Torres
Marketing Coordinator
j.torres@elsevier.com

Do you Facebook? Become a fan of Syngress Publishing and Morgan Kaufmann Publishers today!

Staid Publisher Elsevier Resorts to Comment Spamming - But Why?

 Follow Anne on Twitter

 Twitter Explained in Plain English

Previous Article « The “You Have Received a Postcard from a Family Member!” Spam
Read Next Article » Facebook the Movie: Yes It’s True - Aaron Sorkin is Creating the Facebook Movie for Sony

Read more:

»  Big Time Law Firm Resorts to Spamming

»  Vonage Caught Red-Handed Comment Spamming

»  FunMobile, Freeze Mobile (Freezemob) and FreeMob Join Cell Phone Spammers Mblox in Spamming Through SMS Text Messages

»  Bebo Spam

For additional similar stories check out our archives on Spam

NOTE: We never, ever, ever will recommend any product or service on this site that we have not regularly used ourselves and do not wholeheartedly believe in. That said, in some cases after being very pleased with a product or service, we may enter into a relationship with the provider of that product or service such that if someone purchases that product or service based on our recommendation, we may get a small payment. Such payments go towards the upkeep of the Internet Patrol.

 

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Warning! All comments which contain URLs and are clearly just spam to generate a link back to the URL will be deleted on sight. Don't bother wasting your time!

If you are going to include a URL in your comment,
please keep it under 25 characters in length,
or use TinyURL to shorten it before including it in your comment.

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic, your email address is never displayed.
HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)


If you have not posted a comment here before, we apologize for having to ask you to enter the letters and numbers you see in the image above to validate your comment, but we are being attacked by thousands of comment form spams every day! You only need to do this once; once you have successfuly posted a comment here you will not be asked to do this again. Thank you for your understanding!

 
 This article first appeared on 9/11/2008
The Internet Patrol
Patrolling the Internet for You!