Massive Lockergnome Spam Look-a-Like Campaign! Lockergnome “Spam” Joe Job Implicates Apple’s Mail Servers!   - 1,769 Views, 1 Comment

Summary: Lockergnome is being spoofed in a massive spam campaign which appears to be coming through Apple's own mail servers! The spam includes fake confirmations, and actual Lockergnome newsletters.

Previous Article « Motion Picture Association (MPAA) Accused of Hacking - Hires exTorrentSpy Employee Robert Anderson to Break Into TorrentSpy Servers
Read Next Article » Security Hole in Microsoft Excel

  Follow Anne on Twitter

The Internet Patrol has received several examples of spam which has been sent out under the Lockergnome name, and through Apple’s mail servers.

The spam includes fake confirmation requests to join various Lockergnome newsletter mailing lists, In addition, other pieces of the spam campaign include actual Lockergnome newsletters, despite not having confirmed (or even requested) to receive them.

The copies of the spam Lockergnome newsetters we saw were addressed to “s.jobs@apple.com”.

The fake spam Lockergnome confirmations look like this, and also spoof Lockergnome’s real email service provider, WhatCounts:


From: confirmations@whatcounts.com
Subject: Your confirmation is needed (ok i160929001150989078925)
Date: June 22, 2006 8:11:35 AM PDT
To: [elided]

Your email address ‘elided@deleted.com’ has been submitted to be
subscribed to the ‘Media Center’ mailing list. The list creator
has asked that all new sign-up requests be confirmed.

To confirm that you want to join this list, simply reply
to this message leaving both the subject and message body intact. It’s important that
the words ‘ok i160929001150989078925′ appear in either the subject or
body of your message (it’s fine if they appear in both places).

Also, make sure that your message is sent to ‘elided@whatcounts.com’. If you
simply press your email client’s ‘reply’ button this should happen automatically.

Alternatively, you can simply click on this link to confirm your
request: http://www.whatcounts.com/bin/confirm?code=i160929001150989078925

The IP addresses through which this spam is being relayed include 17.254.13.9, 17.128.113.37, and 17.254.13.22, all of which are Apple mail server machines. (They are mail-in6.apple.com,, relay7.apple.com, and mail-out3.apple.com, respectively.)

Massive Lockergnome Spam Look-a-Like Campaign! Lockergnome “Spam” Joe Job Implicates Apple’s Mail Servers!

 Follow Anne on Twitter

 Twitter Explained in Plain English

Previous Article « Motion Picture Association (MPAA) Accused of Hacking - Hires exTorrentSpy Employee Robert Anderson to Break Into TorrentSpy Servers
Read Next Article » Security Hole in Microsoft Excel

Read more:

»  How to Stop Spam - for Windows Users

»  Using a Gmail Account in Conjunction with Your AntiSpam Program as the Perfect Spam Folder

»  Massive Joker DNS DOS Takes Out Portion of Internet

»  California, Feds Slam Spammer Who Used Affiliates

For additional similar stories check out our archives on Spam

NOTE: We never, ever, ever will recommend any product or service on this site that we have not regularly used ourselves and do not wholeheartedly believe in. That said, in some cases after being very pleased with a product or service, we may enter into a relationship with the provider of that product or service such that if someone purchases that product or service based on our recommendation, we may get a small payment. Such payments go towards the upkeep of the Internet Patrol.

 

1 Comment »

  1. I had a problem looking for a Lockergnome download last night, I kept getting redirected to somewhere other than the download site. I wonder if that was related. I guess I could dredge up the Lockergnome post and examine it more closely.

    Comment by Val Golding — 6/22/2006 @ 9:49 am

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Warning! All comments which contain URLs and are clearly just spam to generate a link back to the URL will be deleted on sight. Don't bother wasting your time!

If you are going to include a URL in your comment,
please keep it under 25 characters in length,
or use TinyURL to shorten it before including it in your comment.

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic, your email address is never displayed.
HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)


If you have not posted a comment here before, we apologize for having to ask you to enter the letters and numbers you see in the image above to validate your comment, but we are being attacked by thousands of comment form spams every day! You only need to do this once; once you have successfuly posted a comment here you will not be asked to do this again. Thank you for your understanding!

 
 This article first appeared on 6/22/2006
The Internet Patrol
Patrolling the Internet for You!