Is Quechup a Big Fat Spammer? Are They Accessing Your Hotmail, AOL, Gmail or Yahoo Address Book? The Answer to at Least One of These is Yes!   9/26/2007 - 2,166 views, 1 Comment

Summary: Does the title of this article on Quechup and spam sound familiar? It should, and it's no accident. Substitute Flixster for Quechup, and you'll find that we had to write the exact same article about Flixster earlier this year. So if you get spam from Quechup saying that someone "has invited you as a friend on Quechup.. the social networking platform sweeping the globe", well, don't blame that someone, blame Quechup.

Previous Article « Google to Build Massive Undersea Internet Cable Across the Pacific Ocean
Read Next Article » Have Sex or Search the ‘Net? The Choice is Clear

 

ORDER YOUR POPCORN TODAY AND HELP US MAKE OUR GOAL!

Does the title of this article on Quechup and spam sound familiar? It should, and it’s no accident. Substitute Flixster for Quechup, and you’ll find that we had to write the exact same article about Flixster earlier this year. Both Quechup and Flixster are essentially tricking users into giving them the password to their Hotmail, Yahoo, Gmail or AOL account, scraping their address book, and spamming everyone in their Yahoo, Gmail, AOL or Hotmail address book.

Now, to their credit, the CEO of Flixster himself came to the Internet Patrol to defend their actions. That said, we have just tested out the Flixter site just now, and we note that despite their protestations of understanding the issues, they are still pulling the same stuff over at Flixster too.

And here’s what that stuff is:

When you sign up for Quechup, and Flixter, using any of a Hotmail, AOL, Yahoo or Gmail account, as soon as you choose your username and provide your email address, the very next screen looks like this (this is the Quechup screen - the Flixster screen is very similar)…

Do you see how it’s prompting you to provide your Hotmail (or AOL, Yahoo or Gmail) password?

And how it makes it look at least sort of legitimate by using the Hotmail, AOL, Yahoo and Gmail logos?

And do you see how sneaky they are, saying that it’s how you can “find out which of your friends are using Quechup”??

Do you know how you will find out?

Because they are the only friends of yours who won’t be royally ticked off at you for causing Quechup to spam them.

Because as soon as you put in your Hotmail or AOL or Yahoo or Gmail password, Quechup is going to spam your entire address book with the following (for purpose of example, we’re going to assume that your name is Pat Brown):


Pat Brown (pat@hotmail.com) has invited you as a friend on Quechup…
…the social networking platform sweeping the globe

Click here to accept Pat’s invite

You can use Quechup to meet new people, catch up with old friends, maintain a blog, share videos & photos, chat with other members, play games, and more. It’s no wonder Quechup is fast becoming ‘The Social Networking site to be on’.

Join Pat and his friends today:
http://quechup.com/join.php/lottsarandomcharactersandsignalshere

You received this because Pat Johnson (pat@hotmail.com) knows and agreed to invite you. You will only receive one invite from pat@hotmail.com. Quechup will not spam or sell your email address - privacy policy. © Quechup 2007.

Click here if you do not wish to receive any more emails from Quechup

Isn’t that a lovely little note that they send from..oh..you! Because it’s not bad enough that they scrape your address book - but they also pretend to be you.

That’s right. The email comes “from” pat@hotmail.com

And the subject line is “Invite from Pat Brown (pat@hotmail.com)”

Now here’s the thing. When we busted Flixster for doing this, their CEO said, and we quote, “This is also incredibly common practice around the web - see yelp/facebook/myspace and many others that also offer it. Plaxo actually offers a popular widget to allow any site to offer this feature.”

Does that excuse the practice? Not by any stretch of the imagination.

But would they do it if it didn’t work?

No.

So, what does this mean?

It means that users are giving them their passwords!

Stop it!

Previous Article « Google to Build Massive Undersea Internet Cable Across the Pacific Ocean
Read Next Article » Have Sex or Search the ‘Net? The Choice is Clear

Get a FREE summary of the week's articles every Friday!
(You can stop it any time!)
    *We never share your email address with anyone

Email Address:
Date of first visit:
How you found us:

Be sure to watch for the confirmation email!

Subscribe
to The Internet Patrol on your cell phone    Email the link for this page to a friend!

Read more:

»  Facebook Joins Ranks of Sites Scraping Your Address Book and Spamming Your Contacts - This Time It’s AIM

»  The Company Behind All That Address Book Scraping that Flixster, Facebook, and Others are Doing

»  Why You Should Switch from Hotmail to Yahoo, AOL, or Gmail

»  Is Flixster a Big Fat Spammer? Are They Accessing Your AOL or Hotmail Address Book? The Answer to at Least One of These is Yes!

For additional similar stories check out our archives on Spam

 

1 Comment »

  1. I have a gmail free account which will not let my e-mails go out and that’s my business. what can be done they also asked me to invite people to their site. sign ann

    Comment by ann robinson — 11/6/2007 @ 4:26 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment

Warning! All comments which contain URLs and are clearly just spam to generate a link back to the URL will be deleted on sight. Don't bother wasting your time!

If you are going to include a URL in your comment,
please keep it under 25 characters in length,
or use TinyURL to shorten it before including it in your comment.

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic, your email address is never displayed.
HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required)


If you have not posted a comment here before, we apologize for having to ask you to enter the letters and numbers you see in the image above to validate your comment, but we are being attacked by thousands of comment form spams every day! You only need to do this once; once you have successfuly posted a comment here you will not be asked to do this again. Thank you for your understanding!

 
The Internet Patrol
Patrolling the Internet for You!