Fake Email from the FBI or CIA is Really a Worm, Not Steven Allison 11/22/2005 - 1,288 views, 4 Comments
|
Previous Article « Windows Users Can Download 20th Century Fox Movies, Universal, Paramount and More, with MovieLink
Read Next Article » Tivo’s TivoToGo Offering Free iPod Downloads, Free PSP Downloads
Both the FBI and Internet security companies have announced this week that there are a fake email from the FBI and a fake email from the CIA going around which are really being sent by the Sober worm. They include an attachment, which is of course the worm, and so if you get this fake email from the FBI or the CIA, don’t open it! So far the text of the email seems to be fairly consistent, with the primary variation being whether the email appears to be email from the FBI, or email from the CIA. In both cases, at least so far, it contains the same name of the supposed sender, “Steven Allison”. The email reads: “Dear Sir/Madam, We have logged your IP-address on more than 30 illegal Websites. Important: Please answer our questions! The list of questions are attached. Yours faithfully, Said Graham Cluely of Sophos, “This variant of the Sober worm may catch out the unwary as they open their email inbox this morning. Every law-abiding citizen wants to help the police with their enquiries, and some will panic that they might be being falsely accused of visiting illegal websites and want click on the unsolicited email attachment. All users should be reminded to follow safe computing guidelines, and PCs should be kept automatically updated with the latest anti-virus protection. Anyone who may have information about the Sober worm’s author should report it to the computer crime authorities. This malware writer has been maliciously attacking innocent computer users for over two years, and must be stopped.” The FBI has requested that anyone who receives this email report it to the FBI. You can report fake email from the FBI here.
Steven Allison
Federal Bureau of Investigation-FBI-
935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW , Room 3220
Washington , DC 20535
Phone: (202) 324-30000″
|
|
Email the link for this page to a friend! |
Read more:
» Sober Worm Convinces Pedophile to Turn Self In!
» AIM Gpic.aol Worm Says “damn this looks just like me lol”
» Tax Refund Email from IRS at GovBenefits.gov is Fake! Don’t Get Caught by IRS Phishing Scam!
» New Yahoo Worm Targets All Yahoo Email - Yamanner Worm Has No Manners at All
For additional similar stories check out our archives on Worms


The saddest part, of course, is that this is not the first time this worm has gone around. Though the name of the sender and a couple other details have changed, the wording is nearly the same as in this entry on Snopes from *February*!
http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/fbi.asp
And really, a bit of common sense would be nice… would the FBI *really* send its questionnaires out in the form of a Windows-only executable?
Comment by codeman38 — 11/22/2005 @ 8:22 am
I’ve recieved tons of these in the last twenty-four hours,it’s the worst load i’ve ever recieved. Hope they catch this guy!
Comment by Babynkc — 11/23/2005 @ 3:02 am
dsadas
Comment by duma@yahoo.com — 4/4/2007 @ 8:02 am
If there was EVER a time to be concerned about Online Privacy, this is it. Use a privacy service like Ultimate Anonymity ( Ultimate-Anonymity.com ) for Anonymous Web Surfing. Using a service like this, you throw a false IP address to the sebsites you click on so if someone does “trap” the IP address, they are chasing ghosts!
John Jenkins
MCSE
Comment by John John — 3/30/2008 @ 12:52 pm