Fake Amazon Cancellation Email Hides Canadian Pharmacy Spam Links - 4,854 Views, 3 Comments
|
Previous Article « Amazon Cancels All Affiliate Accounts in Colorado after Passage of New Online Sales Tax Law
Read Next Article » Maine, San Francisco Contemplating Requiring Radiation Warnings on Cell Phones
Advertisers! Help support the Internet Patrol, and keep it free for the quarter
of a million people who read it Not content with sending fake Amazon confirmation emails, the outfit sending out the Canadian pharmacy spam is now sending out fake Amazon.com order cancellation emails, too, claiming that your Amazon order has been cancelled. “Amazon.com - Your Cancellation (0046-68878-96071)” says the email’s subject (although the “order number” may change) - but of course the link to check “ORDER INFORMATION” really takes you to a Canadian pharmacy spam site, hawking Viagra, Cialis and the like. In the example below, the fake cancellation contains links to http://www.dinnerinperu.com/quadratical, which redirects to http://weightbreezy.com, which is a Canadian pharmacy spam site. The spam, in full, reads:
Subject: Amazon.com - Your Cancellation (0046-68878-96071) Dear Customer, Your order has been successfully canceled. For your reference, here`s a summary You just canceled order #427-36356-9898759 Status: CANCELED _____________________________________________________________________ ORDER INFORMATION _____________________________________________________________________ Because you only pay for items when we ship them to you, you won`t be charged Thank you for visiting Amazon.com! ———————————————————————
As we mentioned in our article last week about the fake Amazon.com confirmation emails, this round of spam also uses masked links that make you think that the link will take you to Amazon so you can figure out just what the heck order they are talking about. But in reality, these cloaked links take you to one of the Canadian pharmacy spam sites that are behind this spam effort. If you are careful, you can hover over the link with your cursor, and any current browser should reveal the actual site link. As you can see in this image below, we hovered over the link, and found that the link in this Amazon.com cancellation phishing spam really goes to a page called “DinnerInPeru.com/quadratical.html” and that page, in turn, goes to the Canadian pharmacy spam site, called “weightbreezy.com/” (Spammers register hundreds of nonsense-named sites on which to host their wares, knowing that their sites will get taken down as soon as they are discovered by either the ISP or the authorities.) As always, if you get an email that claims to be from Amazon, Paypal, eBay, or one of the other big sites, instead of clicking on the links in the email, just log into the site and go to your account. If they really are trying to reach you, there will be a notice in your account.
each month!
Want to see your ad on this page on The Internet Patrol, in this very spot?
Email us here!
Date: March 7, 2010 10:17:22 PM MST
of your order:
Sold by: Amazon.com, LLC
for any items that you cancel.
Amazon.com
Earth`s Biggest Selection
http://www.amazon.com
———————————————————————

Was this information helpful to you? If so, do please leave us a review!
Previous Article « Amazon Cancels All Affiliate Accounts in Colorado after Passage of New Online Sales Tax Law
Read Next Article » Maine, San Francisco Contemplating Requiring Radiation Warnings on Cell Phones
Read more:
» Prescription for Fake Viagra Pharmacy: 20 Years in Prison
» Viagra Increases Spam’s Staying Power
» Tivo Adds $150.00 Cancellation Fee to Service
» Fake Amazon “Your Confirmation” Phishing Emails Hide Canadian Pharmacy Spam
For additional similar stories check out our archives on Amazon, Phishing, Spam
NOTE: We never, ever, ever will recommend any product or service on this site that we have not regularly used ourselves and do not wholeheartedly believe in. That said, in some cases after being very pleased with a product or service, we may enter into a relationship with the provider of that product or service such that if someone purchases that product or service based on our recommendation, we may get a small payment. Such payments go towards the upkeep of the Internet Patrol.

I received two of these. Since they were clearly phishing(I had no recent orders with Amazon), I forwarded them both to Amazon at stop-spoofing at amazon.com just to be sure that they were aware of them. As if they wouldn’t be…
Comment by bigjohn756 — 3/8/2010 @ 3:03 pm
A big dead giveaway for me was the fact that the email address on which I received the fake message was not associated with my Amazon account. It’s also good to know that these apparently are not being used to spread viruses.
Comment by Cathie — 3/16/2010 @ 4:59 am
I believe I was sent a virus on purpose using one of these sites. How do I find out?
Comment by Cindy — 6/11/2010 @ 10:43 am